Activity trackers, smart watches, glucose monitors, and other wearable biosensor technology are a growing part of our lives. Now, ME Research Associate Professor Mihaela Banu is putting her research where our mouths are, with a collaborative initiative to develop a new smart, cyber-physical dental implant system.

ARC Team, Shanna Daly, Karl Grosh, Wai Lu, Chinedum Okwudire, Michael Umbriac, all have accepted College of Engineering Awards.

Fan's proposal entitled, "Connecting Grain Boundary's Metastability Evolution to Mechanical Behavior of Nanocrystalline Alloys During Non-Equilibrium Processing," won the award.

U-M ME, PhD student, Callan Luetkemeyer is a winner of the Savio L-Y. Woo Young Researcher Award – Biomechanical Research for ISLT-XVIII. She will be presenting her abstract at the symposium this February. 

This endowment gift is awarded annually by the Mechanical Engineering Department Chair.

Anam Khan gives an inspirational speech on the lesson of empathy at the 2019 Winter Commencement. 

We congratulate Professor Shih on this prestigious honor.

Rich Strader is the Vice President of Mobility Platforms and Products at Ford Motor Company and gave the 2019 Michael Korybalski Distinguished Lecture.

Mario Medina, ME PhD candidate, shares the most impactful experiences he has had during his time at U-M.

Shanna Daly has been awarded the National Science Foundation's CAREER Program Award.

The Society of Automotive Engineers' J. Cordell Breed Award for Women Leaders has been awarded to Angela Violi.

Panos Papalambros, Jesse Austin-Breneman, Dan Cooper, and Michael Umbriac collectively have been selected winners of the 2019 ASME Ben C. Sparks Medal Award.

“Siloxanes” could be key to deriving bolstered energy production from biogas.

Congratulations Rachel Casanova, Rachael Clarke, Adam Mael, Tim Moore, Kristel Oelke, Julie Tashjian, and Davon Wheeler. 

AIMBE is a non-profit, honorific society of the most accomplished individuals in the fields of medical and biological engineering. 

The Research Faculty Achievement Award honors those who have exceptional scholarly achievements, as evidenced by significant contributions to an academic field of study over time, a specific outstanding discovery or the development of innovative technology or practice.

The Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards honor senior faculty who have consistently demonstrated outstanding achievements in scholarly research and/or creative endeavors.

Professor André Boehman has made exceptional contributions to the scholarly understanding of fuels, compression and spark-ignition engines, and engineering education.

ME student Abby Chapin gives an inside look of her volunteer abroad trip with four other students through the Engineering Honors Program.

Assistant Professor Aaron Towne's research in resolvent-based estimation for control of turbulent aerodynamic flows earns him recognition from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. 

ME Professor Vikram Gavini, U-M Chemistry Professor, Paul Zimmerman, and ME Post-doc fellow, Bikash Kanungo, have been working on this challenge and have had their paper titled, "Exact exchange-correlation potentials from ground-state electron densities" published in Nature Communications on October 3, 2019, explaining their findings on solving the problem.

Dual master's student, Matt Pirone, tells his story of working with the Global Information Engagement Program (GIEP) on a project in Cape Town, South Africa.

Research from the Computational Materials Physics group, directed by Associate Professor Vikram Gavini, selected as a finalist for the ACM Gordon Bell Prize.

Dr. Steve Skerlos, founder and CTO of Fusion Coolant Systems and professor of mechanical, civil, and environmental engineering at the University of Michigan, has been named ThomasNet's September 2019's Champion for Industry.

Tim Manganello/BorgWarner Department Chair of Mechanical Engineering, Ellen Arruda, has received the 2019 ASME Nadai Medal.