Nine ME students receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Nine ME students receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowships
Left to right) Top: Alison Hake , Michelle Harr, Lixi Liu, Miriam Figueroa-Santos, Kimberly Ingraham.
Bottom: Ilya Kovalenko, Andrew Stephens, Sarah Verner, Carlos Barajas

Eight ME graduate students and one ME undergraduate student have received NSF Graduate Research Fellowships (GRF) this year. With a total of nine NSF GRF awardees, the U-M ME Department yielded the highest number of 2016 recipients among ME departments nationwide. The recipients are:

  • Alison Hake (PhD student, advisor: Karl Grosh)
  • Michelle Harr (PhD student, advisors: Sam Daly, Katsuo Kurabayashi)
  • Lixi Liu (PhD student, advisor: Kazu Saitou)
  • Miriam Figueroa-Santos (PhD, advisor: Anna Stefanopoulou)
  • Kimberly Ingraham (PhD student, advisor: C. David Remy)
  • Ilya Kovalenko (PhD student, advisors: Kira Barton, Dawn Tilbury)
  • Andrew Stephens (PhD student, advisor: Katsuo Kurabayashi)
  • Sarah Verner (PhD student)
  • Carlos Barajas (Undergraduate student)

In addition, eight admitted ME PhD students have received Rackham Merit Fellowships; among those who have matriculated are:

  • Mitchell Bieniek
  • Mario Medina
  • Andrew Di Mauro
  • Lucca Henrion