External Advisory Board

The ME External Advisory Board
Left to right (standing): Chuck Gulash, Randy Visintainer, Laura Wojcik, Davor Hrovat, Roberta Zal, Paul Nuyen, Doug Smith
Left to right (seated): Tom Shih, Michael Korybalski, Ellen Arruda, Charles Hutchins, David Cole

Nearly twenty distinguished friends and alumni of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, from industry, academia and government, comprise the ME External Advisory Board (EAB). The EAB is a valuable resource to the ME chair and the Department as a whole in shaping and meeting strategic goals. The EAB members meet on campus twice every year to discuss departmental vision, strategies and issues and provide advice to the chair.

Carla BailoCarla J. Bailo

President and CEO

Center for Automotive Research

Walter BryzikWalter Bryzik

Emeritus Professor

Wayne State University

Mechanical Engineering Department

David E. ColeDavid E. Cole

Chairman, Auto Harvest

Chairman Emeritus, Center for Automotive Research

Thomas J. DanilekThomas J. Danilek

Principal, Stillwater Interests

Charles GulashCharles Gulash

Senior Executive Engineer

Toyota Technical Center

Davor HrovatDavor Hrovat

Henry Ford Technical Fellow – Controls

Ford Research and Innovation Center

Charles HutchinsCharles Hutchins

Co-Founder Manufacturing Data Systems

General Paul KernGeneral Paul Kern

Senior Counselor

The Cohen Group

Michael E. KorybalskiMichael E. Korybalski

EAB Chair

Co-Founder Mechanical Dynamics

Roger McCarthyRoger McCarthy

Principal, McCarthy Engineering

Paul NuyenPaul Nuyen

Vice President- Everett Operations

Paul D. RogersPaul D. Rogers

Director, RDECOM-Tank Automotive


Tom ShihTom Shih

Professor and Head

School of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Purdue University

Doug SmithDoug Smith

President and COO

Roush Industries, Inc.

J. Gary SmythJ. Gary Smyth

Executive Director Global Research & Development

General Motors Company

Stephanie LaCrosse TiaraStephanie LaCrosse Taira

Entrepreneur / Consultant

TrueCar, Inc.

Randy VisintainerRandy Visintainer

Director for Autonomous Vehicles

Ford Motor Company

Laura A. Wojcik, P.E.Laura A. Wojcik, P.E.

President and Principal Consultant, L.A.

Wojcik & Associates, LLC.

Alan R. WoodliffAlan R. Woodliff

Director of Industry Relations, MForesight

University of Michigan

Roberta Zald, P.E.Roberta Zald, P.E.

Senior Program Engineering Manager

Gudel, Inc.