Shorya Awtar

Shorya Awtar
Professor, Mechanical Engineering




George G. Brown Laboratory

2350 Hayward 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2125

(734) 615-0285


Sc.D., Mechanical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2004
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2000
B.Tech, Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology - Kanpur, 1998

Research Interests

Precision engineering; mechatronics; flexure mechanisms; high-precision high-bandwidth motion systems for applications in nanometrology and nanomanufacturing; MEMS sensors and actuators; minimally invasive surgery.

Honors and Awards

Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, SAE, 2012
Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, Society of Manufacturing Engineers, 2011
Achievement Award, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, 2011
CAREER Award, National Science Foundation, 2009
One of the the six most promising invention disclosures filed in year 2008, U-M Technology Transfer Office, 2009
R&D100 Award, for the XY High Precision Extended Range Nanopositioner, 2008

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

The American Society of Biomechanics recognizes Shorya Awtar for his outstanding work in translational biomechanics research, entrepreneurship, and societal benefit. 

Andre Boehman and Shorya Awtar have both received awards from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Leqing Cui, Chinedum Okwudire, and Shorya Awtar has been selected as the winner of the 2017 ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Division (DSCD) Best Conference Paper on Mechatronics Award

The ASME Committee of Past Presidents confers the Fellow grade of membership on worthy candidates to recognize their outstanding engineering achievements.

U-M ME startup FlexDex Surgical’s first product—a simple, ergonomic and intuitive "needle driver" for stitching inside the body—has been used for the first time in a series of operations.

Five ME faculty members received College of Engineering Awards in 2017. These recipients include Shorya Awtar, Margaret Wooldridge, Wei Lu, Michael Thouless, and Miki Banu