Skip to content

Barber receives 2017 ASME Mayo D Hersey Award


Jim BarberJim Barber, the Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Jon R. & Beverly S. Holt Professor of Engineering, is to receive the 2017 ASME Mayo D Hersey Award.

The Mayo D. Hersey Award is bestowed on an individual in recognition of distinguished and continued contributions over a substantial period of time to the advancement of the science and engineering of tribology. Distinguished contributions may result from significant original research in one or more of the many scientific disciplines related to lubrication, from excellence and creativity in lubrication engineering practice, or from sustained and forthright efforts and dissemination of information on the theory and practice of lubrication.

To recognize the splendid leadership in lubrication science and engineering of Mayo D. Hersey, this award was established in 1965 by the joint bequest of the ASME Lubrication Division (now Tribology Division) and the ASME Research Committee on Lubrication (now Research Committee on Tribology).

Read more about previous recipients

Story tags


Faculty featured in this story