Skip to content

Barton and Siegel receive ME Department Achievement Awards


kira Barton

Assistant Professor Kira Barton is a pioneer in micro-additive manufacturing with high impact on the high precision manufacturing community worldwide. She investigates the next generation micro additive fabrication science and technology to enable high fidelity, 3D printing at the micro-scale. Professor Barton’s cutting-edge research breaks barriers that preclude advancements in this paradigm through new standards for designing, modeling, and controlling these processes.

Professor Barton’s research provides the foundation for modeling and control laws that improve the performance of 3D printing at the micro-scale. Her research results have an impact on the way the U.S. manufactures functional electronics, biosensors, and optics at the micro-scale. This research aligns with national interests in manufacturing by improving the fundamental science and providing the enabling tools for advancing 3D printing technology at the micro-scale. 3D printing can be used as a low-cost, flexible alternative for fabrication without a cleanroom environment.

Professor Barton’s outstanding accomplishments were rewarded in 2015 with the prestigious SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, Outstanding Young Alumni Award of University of Illinois, Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering.


Donald Siege

Associate Professor Donald Siegel is a prolific and impactful researcher. He employs high performance computing to model materials at the atomic scale. His group develops and applies techniques ranging from the quantum mechanical level, to classical approaches such as Monte Carlo and molecular dynamics, to predict the thermodynamic, kinetic, mechanical, and transport properties of materials.

Professor Siegel’s contributions to the field of energy storage have been recognized by multiple best paper awards and by his selection as a Gilbreth Lecturer by the National Academy of Engineering in 2014. He is the first faculty member at Michigan to be named an NAE Gilbreth Lecturer, which recognizes the top four presentations amongst Invited Speakers across the entire NAE Frontiers of Engineering Symposium Series. His other awards include the NSF CAREER Award, an NRC Fellowship, and the TMS International Scholar Award.

Professor Siegel has been very active in course development and in educational outreach and has developed two new courses: Atomistic Computer Modeling of Materials and Vehicle Electrification: Hydrogen and Fuel Cells. He has also demonstrated a strong commitment to outreach. Perhaps the most notable example of this is his YouTube video series, Batteries of the Future. This 9-part series was developed as part of the MconneX program, and is intended to introduce energy storage concepts to lay audiences. In 2013, he was awarded the SAE Ralph Teetor Educational Award in recognition of his contributions to automotive education within and beyond the University.