Skip to content

ME Faculty Receive CoE Awards


Shorya AwtarMargaret WooldridgeWei LuMichael ThoulessMiki Banu


Left to right: Shorya Awtar, Margaret Wooldridge, Wei Lu, Michael Thouless, Miki Banu

For the 2016-2017 year, the College of Engineering has chosen five ME faculty members to honorably receive four CoE Awards.

  • Shorya Awtar: Rexford E. Hall Innovation Excellence Award
    This award recognizes a breakthrough technology and its transformational potential in engineering practice or the market. This award is intended to recognize entrepreneurial aspects of innovation that fall outside the scope of innovation in basic research, education, and service.
  • Margaret Wooldridge: Neil Van Eenam Memorial Undergraduate Teaching Award
    This award recognizes demonstrated sustained excellence in curricular development, instruction and guidance at the undergraduate level in the field of Engineering. This includes demonstrated excellence in the development of new courses, teaching laboratories, teaching techniques, and software packages for self-teaching; bringing research into the classroom; and emphasizing contextual learning.
  • Wei Lu and Michael Thouless: Ted Kennedy Family Faculty Team Excellence Award
    This award recognizes production of an extraordinary and significant piece of work from current or recent collaboration in teaching or research to the College of Engineering, such as a new device or process, a new theory, a significant practical application, or a new curriculum development.
  • Miki Banu: Kenneth M. Reese Outstanding Research Scientist Award
    This award recognizes sustained excellence in research and related scholarly activities.

Story tags


Faculty featured in this story