Skip to content

ME Faculty selected for Distinguished University Professorship



ME Faculty Panos Papalambros, the Donald C. Graham Professor of Engineering, as well as professor of mechanical engineering, professor of art and design, and professor of architecture, has been awarded a Distinguished University Professorship (DUP). This appointment is one of the highest honors the University can bestow upon an eminent member of the faculty.

Each Distinguished University Professorship bears a special name, determined by the appointive professor in consultation with his dean. Papalambros was named the James B. Angell Distinguished University Professor of Engineering.


Ronald Larson was also one of the nine U-M faculty members to receive a DUP and was named the A.H. White Distinguished University Professor of Chemical Engineering. He also is the George Granger Brown Professor of Chemical Engineering, professor of mechanical engineering, professor of chemical engineering, and professor of macromolecular science and engineering, College of Engineering.

The Distinguished University Professorships recognize exceptional scholarly and/or creative achievements, national and international reputation, superior teaching and mentoring, and an impressive record of service. In creating these positions in 1947, the Board of Regents intended that Distinguished University Professors be recognized for their great contributions to the University and the nation.


Faculty featured in this story