Skip to content

ME students receive 2018 ME Departmental Awards


The ME Department would like to recognize the following students who have received honors and awards for their accomplishments.

Alexander Azarkhin Fellowship
This scholarship is presented to a U-M ME Ph.D. student who has an interest in Applied Mechanics. Alexander Azarkhin, who came to the U.S. from Russia to earn a second Ph.D, gifted it. After the U-M ME Department provided him with some much-needed assistance by helping to fund his studies, Azarkhin later decided to pay-it-forward by establishing this award for graduate students in ME. 

  • Bin Wu

Robert M. Caddell Memorial Team Award for Research
This award is presented to a faculty/graduate student team that has jointly made significant contributions to research in materials and/or manufacturing. This award was gifted by Robert M. Caddell, former U-M ME faculty member and graduate chairman.

  • Will LePage
    (with Aero Professor John Shaw and former U-M ME Professor Sam Daly)

William Mirsky Memorial Fellowship
This award is presented to a U-M ME masters student who has shown outstanding research and academic achievement.

  • Shihan Lu
  • Bhupendera Prashanth

Lloyd H. Donnell Scholarship Fund
This scholarship is presented to a student who exhibits outstanding achievement in the area of engineering mechanics as demonstrated by academic excellence in solid mechanics, dynamics and fluid mechanics courses and/or by the completion of an outstanding independent study project in these technical areas.

  • Vladimir Krokhmal

J.A. Bursley Mechanical Engineering Award
This award is presented to a U-M ME senior who demonstrates, by scholastic record and leadership abilities in extracurricular activities, unusual promise of developing into a leader in mechanical engineering.

  • Michael Fisher

R&B Machine Tool Company Scholarship
This scholarship is presented to junior and senior students in the U-M ME Department who have both a strong GPA and study focus on materials and/or manufacturing. It was gifted by R&B Tool Company, a leader in automotive and machine tool technology.

  • James Corcoran
  • Michael Daly
  • Samuel Parham
  • Elijah Parham
  • Jason Kerteyasa

Robert M. Caddell Memorial Scholarship
This award is presented to a well qualified ME undergraduate student who is studying in the area of materials and/or manufacturing and who has made significant contributions to relevant student activities. This scholarship was gifted by Robert M. Caddell, former U-M ME faculty member and graduate chairman.

  • Matthew Waldmann
  • John Weeks
  • Bennet McGlade

RISE Fall 2017 Best Paper Award
This award is the top MEUS (ME Undergraduate Symposium) award. The recipient is selected after judges review the final papers from the winners of the MEUS Best Session Award to select the best overall project based upon the quality of the work and the presentation in both oral and written forms.

  • Yunseok Choi (with ME Assistant Professor Bogdan Popa)

ME Department Spirit Award
This Award is given to a deserving U-M ME senior who best embodies the character and leadership critical to a successful career in mechanical engineering.

  • Chloe Henderson

2017 Ivor K. McIvor Award
This award, established to honor the memory of I.K. McIvor, the late and last Chairperson of the Applied Mechanics and Engineering Science Department in the College of Engineering at the University of Michigan, is presented annually to senior graduate students who have demonstrated excellence in research and scholarship in applied mechanics.

Story tags

awards student news

Faculty featured in this story