Skip to content

Oh, Lipps, Ashton-Miller, and Wojtys receive 2011 Cabaud Memorial Award



Oh (top-left), Lipps (top-right), Ashton-Miller (bottom-left), Wojtys (bottom-right)

Youkeun Oh, David Lipps, ME Research Professor James Ashton-Miller and Professor Edward Wojtys of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery have received the 2011 Cabaud Memorial Award for excellence in research at the recent July 7-10 American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine meeting in San Diego, CA. The title of their paper is “The Effect of Axial Tibial Rotation and Varus or Valgus Loading on ACL Strain During a Simulated Jump Landing.”

The Cabaud Memorial Award is given annually at AOSSM to the best manuscript that pertains to hard or soft tissue biology, in-vitro research, laboratory or “bench-type” research, or in-vivo animal research in sports medicine. The award was established in 1986 to honor the life and contributions of Henry Edward (“Ed”) Cabaud, III, MD.

Youkeun Oh is a research fellow and David Lipps is a graduate student in Ashton-Miller’s Biomechanics Research Laboratory. Youkeun has a PhD in Mechanical Engineering and David is a PhD candidate in Biomedical Engineering. The research was conducted in a collaboration at U-M between the ME Biomechanics Research Laboratory, MedSport and the Bone & Joint Injury Prevention and Rehabilitation Center with technical assistance from the Orthopaedic Research Laboratories, and is funded by an R01 grant from the National Institutes of Health.


Story tags

awards biomechanics

Faculty featured in this story