Skip to content

Stefanopoulou elected SAE fellow


From left: Dr. Corina Sandu, Dr. Mircea Gradu (SAE President), Dr. Ravi Thyagarajan, Dr. Anna Stefanopoulou and Dr. John Wagner

ME Professor Anna Stefanopoulou, the William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing, has been elected SAE fellow. The Fellow status is the SAE’s highest grade of membership. It recognizes and honors long-term members who have made a significant impact on the Society’s mobility technology through leadership, research, and innovation. Established in 1975, the grade of Fellow is administered by the SAE Fellows Committee. Election to Fellow is an exceptional professional distinction bestowed on around 20 recipients each year. Stefanopoulou was honored this month at the 2018 WCX World Congress Experience.

Stefanopoulou is recognized for her contributions in dynamic estimation and control of internal combustion engines and electrochemical processes such as fuel cells and batteries. She has trained a generation of engineers to develop model-predictive methods for real-time coordination of multiple actuators typically met in highly efficient and clean powertrains.

Story tags

awards combustion energy

Faculty featured in this story