Skip to content

Thouless Appointed Arthur F. Thurnau Professor


Michael Thouless

Michael Thouless has been granted the honorary Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship for his exceptional contributions to undergraduate education in the University’s Department of Mechanical Engineering, since his arrival at the University in 1995. Thouless will be joining six other professors from the department, who have been appointed in the past.

The professorship is awarded according to a faculty member’s influence on the intellectual development and lives of students. Each year, five University professors are selected and will maintain the professorship throughout their career. Additionally, each recipient receives a $20,000 grant, which they may use to enhance their teaching.

In addition to teaching ME courses, Thouless is also a professor of materials science and engineering. In 2013, he won the CoE award for Education Excellence. The year prior, the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs selected Thouless to receive the Distinguished Faculty Governance Award, which is given to a select few faculty members who have demonstrated university-wide service.

His research interests include micromechanics modeling of materials interfacial fracture mechanics and adhesion, mechanical properties of thin films and coatings, toughening mechanisms in polymers, and mechanical properties of structural adhesives.

Faculty featured in this story