Skip to content

Wang receives 2017 ASME J.P. Den Hartog Award


Kon-Well WangKon-Well Wang, Stephen P. Timoshenko Collegiate Professor and Tim Manganello/BorgWarner Department Chair of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan, is to receive the 2017 ASME J.P. Den Hartog Award. Professor Wang is recognized for “his lifelong achievements in structural dynamics and vibration; and for outstanding work that has cross-linked multiple fields to synthesize novel adaptive structures with piezoelectric circuitry network, bistable and metastable elements, and biologically-inspired or nanoscale composites for vibration and control enhancement.”

The ASME J.P. Den Hartog Award is one of the most prestigious honors in the field of dynamics and vibration. It recognizes lifetime contributions to the teaching and practice of vibration engineering. The award was established in 1987 and operated as a division award until 2010 when it was elevated to a Society award. The award is given in odd-numbered years.

Story tags


Faculty featured in this story