Skip to content

Wineman receives award at ACS Technical Meeting



The American Chemical Society’s Rubber Division recognized Dr. Alan Wineman, the Arthur F. Thurnau professor of mechanical engineering, at their 185th Technical Meeting.

At the event, which took place in Louisville Kentucky from March 24th to March 26th, Wineman was presented with the George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research. Wineman was one of six professionals to receive awards within that division of the ACS.

This award acknowledges outstanding teaching in the field of chemistry and polymer science by professional rubber or polymer chemists, and takes into consideration their inventive research. To be eligible, applicants must have taught both prospective chemists and the general public about advances in research. Additionally, recipients are generally responsible for the integration of such principles into University curriculum.

In addition to being endowed with prestigious recognition by the chemistry community, recipients are also awarded $3,000.

Wineman’s research interests include mechanics and theory of continua, non-Fickian diffusion in polymers, yield-induced phenomena in polymers, modeling microstructural changes in polymers, and electrorheological fluids. Together, these topics constitute a collection of over 130 research papers.

Currently, Wineman works with professor of aerospace engineering John Shaw on the development of a thermo-mechanical theory for elastomers undergoing oxidative scission and crosslinking at high temperatures. Conclusively, their work reveals that the interaction of deformation and microstructural changes leads to permanent set, functionally graded anisotropy, stiffnesses, and new mechanisms of failure.

The National Science Foundation, U.S. Department of Energy, and U.S. Department of Defense fund Wineman’s research, which is performed at the University. Most recently, his awards include the CoE’s Research Excellence Award, Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, and the William Prager Medal awarded by the Society of Engineering Science. Furthermore, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Society of Engineering Science, and the American Academy of Mechanics have distinguished Wineman as an honorary fellow of their organizations.

Faculty featured in this story