Luetkemeyer's research uses state-of-the-art, full-field experimental and computational inverse techniques to build mathematical models of the mechanical behavior of the anterior cruciate ligament (ACL).

The article is titled "How recycling more steel and aluminum could slash imports without a trade war."

The new study also reveals the important role of mechanical signals in the development of the human nervous system.

This award is designed to recognize exceptional scholarly achievements, as evidenced by publications and/or other scholarly activities in any academic field of study.

Ellen Arruda has been named the new chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, effective September 1, 2018.

ME Master's student Muhammad Abdullah was joined by teammates from Texas State University.

Bailo's lecture will occur on May 24th and is titled "The Future of Mobility – Industry View: 2025 and Beyond"

In a chain-reaction braking event, an automated vehicle with connected cruise control can slow down more efficiently.

Mote's lecture will occur on May 18th and is titled "The Grand Challenges Scholars Program: Preparing Students for Global Engineering"

This award recognizes significant contributions to the sciences and technologies associated with adaptive structures and/or materials systems.

CubeSat was created to provide Michigan students, faculty, staff, and alumni 100 years in the future a diverse perspective of the world in 2017 through stories told by the Michigan community.

This award recognizes and celebrates the extraordinary efforts of U-M faculty and staff who keep the university on the leading edge of international education for our students.

The Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award is presented to an engineering graduate who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering twenty years or more following graduation.

ME Professor Emeritus Yoram Koren talks about current trends of mass customization and individualized manufacturing and his vision of the 21st-century manufacturing industry in this interview.

The SAE's highest grade of membership, the Fellow status recognizes and honors long-term members who have made a significant impact on the Society's mobility technology through leadership, research, and innovation.

A recent research by U-M ME Ph.D. student Zhiton Bai and Assistant Professor Yue Fan, entitled "Abnormal Strain Rate Sensitivity Driven by a Unit Dislocation-Obstacle Interaction in bcc Fe," was published in the March 2018 Physical Review Letters.

Moin's lecture will occur on April 20th and is titled "Reduced Order Modeling of Wall Turbulence"

His paper is titled "Value Creation through Design for Scalability of Reconfiguring Manufacturing Systems."

The purpose of the NSF GRFP (National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program) is to help ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States.

This award provides financial benefits and professional development opportunities to students pursuing a Ph.D. in fields of study that solve complex science and engineering problems critical to stewardship science.

The DARPA Young Faculty Award program identifies rising research stars in junior faculty positions at U.S. academic institutions and introduces them to Department of Defense needs as well as DARPA’s program development process.

Hutchinson's lecture will occur on April 6th and is titled "Shell Buckling –the old and the new"

Kurabayashi group and Shanghai Jiao Tong University researchers recently discovered enzymes that produce ibuprofens with record-breaking enantiomer purity.

This award recognizes ME programs/departments for exceptional and innovative engagement in and fostering advances in ME education.

This award is presented to a PhD student or postdoctoral scholar for performing exceptional nanocharacterization research with the quality and impact of an exemplary nanoscience scholar.