This award recognizes outstanding service to the manufacturing engineering profession in technical communications through published literature, technical writings or lectures.

In addition to Yue Shao, 7 other ME graduate students won CoE Graduate Symposium Awards

The paper is titled "Mechanosensitive subcellular rheostasis drives emergent single-cell mechanical homeostasis"

The P&G Innovations in 3D Printing Challenge sought diverse teams of scientists and engineers to develop solutions to modern problems in additive manufacturing. 

This award is presented for demonstrated sustained outstanding leadership contributions to the DSCD, to ASME, and to the fields of interest to the DSCD.

The ME department is pleased to welcome Jesse Capecelatro, Daniel Cooper,  Bogdan Ioan Popa, and Yue Fan, who are joining the faculty as assistant professors

Improving the functionality of robotic and manufacturing systems "comes down to understanding your system and identifying a strategy for improving performance," says ME Assistant Professor Kira Barton, whose laboratory combines fundamental and experimental modeling and controls research, from multi-agent coordination to additive manufacturing

To ensure that the systems they design will operate as intended, engineers construct controllers which ensure the largest possible set of configurations of a system behave as intended.

ME faculty play integral role in robotics at U-M, conduct vital research

This award aims at motivating future researchers to contribute to the Dynamic System and Control scientific community, by recognizing outstanding and original scientific work developed by students

This award is given annually by the Dynamic Systems and Control Division of ASME to the authors of the best paper published in the ASME Journal of Dynamic Systems Measurement and Control during the preceding year

Endowed professorships recognize outstanding faculty members with distinguished records of teaching, research and impact.

Li and Wang's paper is titled "Fluidic origami: a plant-inspired adaptive structure with shape morphing and stiffness tuning."

This annual award program open to graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, seeks to stimulate and reward research applicable to the development of therapies and medical products that save and sustain patients' lives

ME Associate Professor Nikos Chronis' work focuses on micro and nano electro-mechanical systems (MEMS/NEMS) and microfluidics technologies to address both fundamental questions in neuroscience and clinical needs in the medical field.

Connor Jaeger and Sean Ryan, both 2014 ME graduates, competed on the US Men’s Swim team, while Bruce Gemmell, U-M ME alulm served as an American women’s swim coach.

GHDI "focuses on training a new generation of engineers to collaborate with stakeholders to define problems and develop and implement solutions to address essential health care challenges through engineering design."

Her paper is titled "An Approximate Model of the Dynamics of the Bacteriophages T4 Injection Machinery"

This is the main society in Dasgupta's research field, and only one award per year is granted.

Gemmell is the coach of gold medal-winning Olympic swimmer, Katie Ledecky

When inspiration hits, it’s hard to ignore. That’s why a group of four Michigan mechanical engineering students decided to craft their very own senior design project

FlexDex Surgical, an innovative medical device company founded by Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Shorya Awtar and Medical School Professor James Geiger, has received coverage from several media outlets

The paper is titled "Formation and emission of large furans and oxygenated hydrocarbons from flames"

The Research Faculty Recognition Award recognizes a Research Assistant Professor or Assistant Research Scientist for exceptional scholarly achievements, as evidenced by publications and/or other scholarly activities in any academic field of study

PhD student Jin Lee is making artificial platelets to aid the body's natural mechanisms to stop blood loss