Skip to content

Bogdan Epureanu

Bogdan Epureanu

Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Roger L. McCarthy Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Director, Automotive Research Center

Epureanu Research Group


3650 GGB
2350 Hayward, Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (734) 647-6391


Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, Duke University, 1999 Graduate Studies, University of Valladolid, 1994
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, Galati University, 1993
Graduate Studies, École Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Paris, 1992

Research Interests

Research focuses on biological and epidemiological systems, aerospace and automotive structures, and turbomachinery. Examples include creating novel mechano-chemical dynamic models of nanoscale intracellular transport processes, developing the next generation of highly-sensitive diagnosis and monitoring techniques, discovering novel methods for forecasting tipping points in complex systems such as disease epidemics and ecological systems, developing innovative reduced order models of multi-physics systems such as Li-ion batteries and complex structures, creating advanced system identification and control methodologies for smart structures and fluid-structural systems. These blend novel methods and theory with fundamental experiments in linear and nonlinear dynamics from macro to nano-scale.

Research Areas

Dynamics & Vibrations, Mechatronics & Robotics, Multi-scale Computation

Honors & Awards

  • 1938E Award, College of Engineering, University of Michigan, 2007
  • Outstanding Achievement Award, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, April 2006
  • Selected and invited by the National Academy of Engineering, to participate at the Frontiers of Engineering Symposium, Niskayuna, NY, September 2005
  • Junior Achievement Award, American Academy of Mechanics, 2004
  • Ferdinand P. Beer and E. Russell Johnston, Jr., Outstanding New Mechanics Educator Award, for exceptional contributions to mechanics education, American Society for Engineering Education, Salt Lake City, UT, June 2004
  • CAREER Award, National Science Foundation, March 2004
  • Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, November 2003
  • Young Innovator Award, Petro-Canada, Montreal, 2001-2002
  • Best Paper Award Finalist, Society of Manufacturing Engineers, 2001
  • Winner of the 1999 Eaton International Mechanical Design Contest for the best electric circuit breaker design, Eaton Corporation, Pittsburgh, April 1999
  • A. M. Strickland Prize, for the best paper published in the Proceedings of IMechE as a significant contribution to the field of manufacturing, Division of Manufacturing Industries of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, London, UK, May 1998

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

U-M’s Automotive Research Center gets $100 million through 2028
The U.S. Army has has reached a new five-year agreement of up to $100 million with U-M’s Automotive Research Center to boost work on autonomous vehicle technologies.

ME professor, Bogdan Epureanu, selected by ASME Technical Committee to receive 2022 N.O. Myklestad Award
Bogdan Epureanu, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of the Automotive Research Center, has been selected on behalf of the ASME Technical Committee as the recipient of the 2022 N. O. Myklestad Award.

U-M’s Automotive Research Center is a ‘national strategic asset’
For more than 25 years, ARC has been a source of technology, modeling, and simulation for the Army's fleet of vehicles.

Bogdan Epureanu selected to receive the 2021 Archie Higdon Distinguished Educator Award
Assistant Professor Bogdan Epureanu receives an award honoring distinguished contributions to engineering mechanics education. 

Professor Bogdan Epureanu honored with Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship
Six honorees were awarded in February, one being Mechanical Engineering Professor and Director of the Automotive Research Center, Bogdan Epureanu.

Epureanu receives Faculty Recognition Award
Faculty Recognition Awards are intended for faculty early in their careers who have demonstrated substantive contributions to the university through achievements in scholarly research or creative endeavors; excellence as a teacher, adviser and mentor; and distinguished participation in service activities of the university.

ME Faculty Receive CoE Awards
Five ME faculty members received College of Engineering Awards in 2016. These recipients include Xiaogan Liang, Bogdan Epureanu, Margaret Wooldridge, Steve Skerlos, and Stani Bohac

Epurneau & Ulsoy Receive Outstanding Achievement Awards

Epureanu Receives Junior Achievement Award