Skip to content

Mihaela Banu

Mihaela Banu

Professor, Mechanical Engineering
OVPR Collegiate Research Professor
ISD Faculty Director

Individual Website


3001F EECS
1301 Beal, Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Phone: (734) 936-0378

Research Interests

The research focuses on lightweight materials, with emphasis on developing micro- and nanocellulose composites, natural fiber composites and associated manufacturing processes for automotive and aerospace applications, multi-scale modeling of materials and simulation of forming processes, manufacturing of personalized dental ligaplants.

Research Areas

Manufacturing, Mechanics & Materials

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

Mihaela Banu appointed OVPR Collegiate Research Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering´┐╝
The U-M Office of Research established the Collegiate Research Professorship award to recognize members of the UM Research Faculty for significant scholarly contributions to their field of study.

2021 Willie Hobbs Moore Achievement Awarded to Two ME Faculty
The Willie Hobbs Moore Awards recognizes individuals in STEM whose achievements encourage and inspire others to achieve their goals. 

Toward Smart Dental Implants
Activity trackers, smart watches, glucose monitors, and other wearable biosensor technology are a growing part of our lives. Now, ME Research Associate Professor Mihaela Banu is putting her research where our mouths are, with a collaborative initiative to develop a new smart, cyber-physical dental implant system.

Professor Miki Banu awarded the Research Faculty Achievement Award
The Research Faculty Achievement Award honors those who have exceptional scholarly achievements, as evidenced by significant contributions to an academic field of study over time, a specific outstanding discovery or the development of innovative technology or practice.

Professor Miki Banu receives UMOR Research Faculty Award
ME Research Associate Professor awarded for work in lightweight materials.

ME Faculty Receive CoE Awards
Five ME faculty members received College of Engineering Awards in 2017. These recipients include Shorya Awtar, Margaret Wooldridge, Wei Lu, Michael Thouless, and Miki Banu