Skip to content

Volker Sick

Volker Sick

Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Mechanical Engineering
DTE Energy Professor of Advanced Energy Research
Director, Global CO2 Initiative

Individual Home Page
Global CO2 Initiative Website


2476 GGB
2350 Hayward, Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (734) 647-9607


Habilitation Physical Chemistry, University of Heidelberg, 1997
Doctorate, University of Heidelberg, 1992

Research Interests

Accelerating deployments of CO2-utilization technologies that will innovate existing infrastructure and manufacturing processes, thereby finding sustainable solutions to help address the climate crisis. Developing and applying optical measurement techniques to diagnose diseases of the human eye.

Research Areas

Energy, Fluids, Mobility Automotive & Transportation, Thermal Sciences

Honors & Awards

  • Royal Society of Chemistry Spiers Memorial Lecture Award, 2021
  • DTE Energy Professor of Advanced Energy Research, 2019
  • President's Award for Distinguished Service in International Education, 2018
  • Fellow of The Combustion Institute, 2018
  • Internal Combustion Engine Award, ASME, 2015
  • Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, 2013
  • Master’s Mentoring Award, Rackham, 2012
  • International Leadership Citation, SAE, 2012
  • Education Excellence Award, College of Engineering, University of Michigan, 2012
  • Silver Combustion Medal of the Combustion Institute, 2008
  • Michigan Leadership Advisor of the Year Award (for work with the Formula SAE team), The University of Michigan, 2007
  • Service Excellence Award, University of Michigan College of Engineering, 2007-08
  • Outstanding Student Group Advisor Award, CoE Epeians, 2006
  • Harold C. Simmons Award with James D. Smith, Institute for Liquid Atomization and Spray Systems, 2006
  • Distinguished Paper Award with Claudia M. Fajardo, The Combustion Institute, 2006
  • Faculty of the Term, Pi Tau Sigma, Michigan Pi Rho Chapter, 2006
  • Award for Outstanding Faculty Achievement, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, 2003
  • Excellence in oral presentation, Society of Automotive Engineers, 2002, 2004
  • Teaching Incentive Award for outstanding performance in education, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, 2001
  • Teaching Incentive Award for outstanding performance in education, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, 1999
  • Forest McFarland Award, Society of Automotive Engineers, 1999
  • Venia Legendi and Privatdozent, University of Heidelberg, 1997
  • Research Fellowship, German Science Foundation, 1994-1995

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

ME professor receives ASEE Ralph Coats Roe Award
Volker Sick has received the Ralph Coats Roe Award from the American Society for Engineering Education. This award recognizes a mechanical engineering educator who is an outstanding teacher and who has made notable professional contributions in any of a variety of ways for at least a decade.

ME professor receives ASME 2023 Edwin F. Church Medal
Volker Sick has received the ASME 2023 Edwin F. Church Medal “for pioneering contributions to mechanical engineering education through high-impact experiential learning programs that broaden students’ disciplinary, cultural, and moral understanding.”

ME professor named Faculty Director at the Center for Entrepreneurship
Volker Sick, DTE Energy Professor of Advanced Energy Research and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Mechanical Engineering, has been named Faculty Director at the Center for Entrepreneurship (CFE).

Volker Sick named a member of NASEM Committee on carbon utilization
The National Academies of Sciences Engineering and Medicine create new committee with 14 experts to help make recommendations for a fossil-free carbon economy.

Key takeaways from the COP26 Summit
Three Michigan Engineering experts offer insights following the summit in Glasgow.

Volker Sick comments on VOA article about cutting concrete's heavy carbon footprint
Volker Sick discusses how opportunities of utilizing cement made from carbon capture can help in reducing the industry's heavy carbon footprint.

Volker Sick presents Spiers Memorial Lecture
The Royal Society of Chemistry recognizes Volker Sick as he presents the first Spiers Memorial Lecture.

Volker Sick featured on Climate 21 Podcast
Climate 21 has ME professor, Volker Sick, on to talk about how carbon dioxide should be treated as a resource to make products.

Bendable concrete, other CO2-infused cement mixes could dramatically cut global emissions
Volker Sick featured in the Washington Post article, "Bendable concrete, other CO2-infused cement mixes could dramatically cut global emissions."

Faculty featured in Blue Sky Podcast

Volker Sick is installed as the DTE Energy Professor of Advanced Energy Research
In a recent ceremony, Professor Volker Sick was installed as the DTE Energy Professor of Advanced Energy Research at the University of Michigan.

Urgent climate action: How engineers are heeding IPCC’s call
Efforts are underway to reduce CO2, develop sustainable energy, and adapt to a warmer future.

Sick and Violi recipients of Blue Sky Initiative
Inspired by startup funding models, Michigan Engineering reinvents its internal R&D grant structure with the Blue Sky Initiative.

Sick receives 2018 President's Award for Distinguished Service in International Education
This award recognizes and celebrates the extraordinary efforts of U-M faculty and staff who keep the university on the leading edge of international education for our students.

Sick elected 2018 Fellow of The Combustion Institute
Members of the international combustion community recognized by their peers as distinguished for outstanding contributions to combustion, whether it be in research or in applications, may be designated Fellows of The Combustion Institute.

Volker Sick appointed to FISITA Academic Advisory Board
The board is made up of five leading universities around the world, which will enter into a long term collaboration with FISITA and its members in order to strengthen the automotive engineering link with academia

Twelve ME Faculty Recognized for Prestigious Professional Society Awards in 2015

Sick receives ASME Internal Combustion Engine Award
This award recognizes eminent achievement or distinguished contribution over a substantial period of time, which may result from research, innovation, or education in advancing the art of engineering in the field of internal combustion engines

Sick receives prestigious Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship
The honor is given to faculty who have made outstanding contributions to undergraduate education

Sick appointed Associate Vice President for Research, Natural Sciences and Engineering
This appointment is effective September 1, 2012, pending approval by the Board of Regents

Sick Receives Rackham Master's Mentoring Award
This award was established to honor and encourage the efforts and accomplishments of faculty who serve as distinguished mentors to master's degree students

Sick receives 2012 SAE International Leadership Citation
This citation recognizes an individual well known internationally for continuous professional involvement in SAE's meetings, conferences, congresses and unique assistance and support in helping SAE achieve its goals

MSAE Wins Student Exhibit Competition

ME Students Selected for SAE Leadership Seminar

Sick & Fajardo Receive Silver Combustion Medal

Sick Named Fellow of SAE International

New ME Administrative Structure for Winter 2002 Semester

Claudia Fajardo Named Recipient of 2005 Yanmar/SAE Scholarship