Awards & Honors ME Annual Report 2019-2020

The accolades ME faculty and students earn each year are nothing short of inspiring. From prestigious young investigator awards to National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships, our community is represented in a variety of areas for their research and accomplishments.

Internal Awards

Shanna Daly U-M Women in Science Engineering Achievement Award, 2020 Read more

Miller Faculty Scholar, 2020 Read more

Neil Dasgupta Miller Faculty Scholar, 2020 Read more

Pramod Sangi Reddy Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award, 2020 Read more

Angela Violi U-M Women in Science Engineering Aspire, Advance, and Achieve Mentoring Award, 2020 Read more

External Awards

Shorya Awtar American Society of Mechanical Engineers Thomas A. Edison Patent Award, 2020 Read more

ASB (American Society of Biomechanics) Goel Award, 2020 Read more

Andre Boehman American Society of Mechanical Engineers Internal Combustion Engine Award, 2020 Read more

Daniel Cooper Society of Manufacturing Engineers Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, 2020

Yue Fan National Science Foundation CAREER, 2020

Jianping Fu Analytical Chemistry Young Innovator Award, 2020 Read more

David Kwabi American Society of Mechanical Engineers Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal, 2020 Read more

Jyoti Mazumder Foreign Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), 2020 Read more

Jun Ni Society of Manufacturing Engineers - 20 most influential professors in smart manufacturing, 2020 Read more

Bogdan Popa National Science Foundation CAREER, 2020

Albert Shih Society of Manufacturing Engineers Education Award, 2020

Steve Skerlos United States Environmental Protection Agency Green Chemistry Challenge Award, 2020 Read more

Jeffery Stein Henry M. Paynter Outstanding Investigator Award from the Dynamic Systems and Control Division (DSCD) of ASME, 2020 Read more

Dawn Tilbury SAE Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering Award, 2019 Read more

Galip Ulsoy 2020 Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award, 2020 Read more

Kon-Well Wang American Society of Mechanical Engineers Rayleigh Lecture Award Sponsored by the Noise Control and Acoustics Division, 2020 Read more

2020 Alumni Merit Award Recipient

Pete Wurman (MS ME ’88)

Mechanical engineering alumnus Pete Wurman has been selected to receive the 2020 U-M ME Alumni Merit Award. Wurman, director at Sony AI America, is best known for his work as a technical co-founder of Kiva Systems, the Boston-based company that pioneered the use of mobile robotics in warehouses and distribution facilities. He joined Kiva in 2004 with Raff D’Andrea to help founder Mick Mountz bring his vision to life. As CTO, Wurman was responsible for the system architecture and decision making algorithms. In May of 2012, Kiva was acquired by, and has subsequently deployed more than 250,000 robots to Amazon warehouses. In 2020, Mick, Raff, and Pete were inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame for their work on Kiva.

Prior to joining Kiva, Wurman was an Associate Professor of Computer Science at North Carolina State University. His teaching focus was e-commerce systems, and his research focused on electronic auctions (especially combinatorial auctions), multi-agent systems, and resource allocation.

In addition to being elected to the National Inventors Hall of Fame, Wurman received the 2008 IEEE/IFR Invention and Entrepreneurship Award, has been granted more than 60 patents, and published over 50 technical papers.

Undergraduate Student Awards

RISE Best Paper FA 19: Jeremy Babinet

RISE Best Paper WN 20: William White

Distinguished Leadership Award: Haley Clafton

Distinguished Leadership Award: Krithika Balakrishnan

Henry Ford II Prize: Adeline Wihardja

Distinguished Academic Achievement - ME: John Burke

Graduate Student Awards

Alexander Azarkhin Award: Sagardip Majumder

William Mirsky Memorial Fellowship: Lu Wen and Tianhan Gao

Towner Prize for Outstanding PhD Research: Daniel Bruder

Robert M. Caddell Memorial Award: Yi Zheng, Xufeng Xue, Sajedeh Nasr Esfahani, Agnes Resto Irizarry

Ivor K. McIvor Award: Callan Luetkemeyer

Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship: Mohsen Taheri Andani

Anna Olcott Smith Award: Lauren Mancia

Rackham International Student Fellowship: Ruddhi Gokhale, Nathaly Villacis Nunez

J. Robert Beyster Computational Innovation Graduate Fellowship: Shreyas Kousik, James Dallas

NSF Graduate Research Fellowship: Shannon Clancy, Peter Kuetzing, Hannah Larson, Samuel Byung-Deuk Lee, Larson Lovdal, Gabriel Antoniak, Andrew Kim, Derek Barnes, Erin Burrell