Awards & Honors ME Annual Report 2020-2021

The list of awards our faculty and students receive every year is long and prestigious and 2021 was no different. From NSF CAREER Awards to National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships, our community is represented in a wide range of areas for their research and accomplishments.

Internal Awards

Jesse Austin-Breneman Vulcans Education Excellence Award, 2021

Miki Banu Willie Hobbs Moore Achievement Award, 2021 Read more

Andre Boehman Monroe-Brown Foundation Service Excellence Award, 2021

Shanna Daly Henry Russel Award, 2021

Eleni Gourgou Willie Hobbs Moore Achievement Award, 2021 Read more

Allen Liu U-M SACUA Chair, 2021 Read more

Wei Lu Public Engagement Faculty Fellowship Program, 2021 Read more

Edgar Meyhofer Wise-Najafi Prize for Engineering Excellence in the Miniature World Award, 2021

Pramod Reddy Wise-Najafi Prize for Engineering Excellence in the Miniature World Award, 2021

Alex Shorter John F. Ullrich Education Excellence Award, 2021

Michael Thouless The Michigan Society of Fellows, 2021 Read more

Dawn Tilbury Sarah Goddard Power Award, 2021 Read more

Ram Vasudevan 1938E Award, 2021

Angela Violi Monroe-Brown Foundation Research Excellence Award, 2021

External Awards

Ellen Arruda SES A.C. Eringen Medal, 2021 Read more

Rohini Bala Chandra Doctoral New Investigator Award from the American Chemical Society, Petroleum Research Fund, 2021

Ashley Bucsek Haythornthwaite Foundation Research Initiation Grant by the Applied Mechanics Division of the ASME, 2021

Steve Ceccio ASME Fluids Engineering Award, 2021 Read more

David Dowling ASME Per Bruel Gold Medal for Noise Control and Acoustics, 2021 Read more

Bogdan Epureanu Archie Higdon Distinguished Educator Award, 2021

Jon Estrada Haythornthwaite Foundation Research Initiation Grant by the Applied Mechanics Division of the ASME, 2021

Nima Fazeli Google Research Scholar Award, 2021

Katsuo Kurabayashi Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), 2021

Fellow of ASME, 2021

David Kwabi NSF CAREER Award, 2021

Talia Moore Carl Gans Young Investigator Award, 2021 Read more

Albert Shih ASME William T. Ennor Manufacturing Technology Award, 2021 Read more

ASME 20 Most Influential Academics Shaping Smart Manufacturing, 2021

Volker Sick Spiers Memorial Lecture - The Royal Society of Chemistry, 2021 Read more

Michael Thouless Academic Council of the Technical University of Denmark the degree "doctor technices honoris causa", 2021

ASME 2021 Nadai Medal, 2021 Read more

Dawn Tilbury ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Division Nyquist Lecture, 2021 Read more

Kon-Well Wang ASME Robert E. Abbott Award, 2021 Read more

Undergraduate Student Awards

J.A. Bursley Mechanical Engineering Awards

Robert M. Caddell Memorial Scholarship

MEUS Best Paper

R&B Machine Tool Company Scholarship

ME Department Spirit Award

LLoyd H. Donnell Scholarship Fund

Graduate Student Awards

Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship: Sajedeh Nasr Esfahani

Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship: Amin Reihani

Distinguished Leadership Award - Graduate Students: Hang Yang

Distinguished Leadership Award - Graduate Students: Akshay Bhardwaj

Hugh G. Rumler Prize: Julia Stuart

Distinguished Academic Achievement - Mechanical Engineering: Peter Wacnik

Towner Prize-Mechanical Engineering: Minki Kim

Richard F. and Eleanor A. Towner Prize For Outstanding PhD Research: Mohsen Taheri Andani

Ivor K. McIvor Award: Shengjia Wu

Robert M. Caddell Memorial Award for Research: Jaekwang Shin (ME), Ankush Bansal (ME), Alan Taub (MSE,ME) and Miki Banu (ME)

U-M ME’s 2021 NSF GRF Recipients

A total of eight ME graduate students have received NSF (National Science Foundation) Graduate Research Fellowships (GRF) in 2021. With these awards, the University of Michigan (U-M) Mechanical Engineering (ME) Department continues to be a national leader in NSF awards to ME departments. The NSF GRF Program’s goal is to increase the nation’s human capacity in science and engineering by providing fellowships to early-career graduate students to support the development of a diverse and globally engaged U.S. science and engineering workforce.

Charlie Andreasen Charlie Andreasen
Advisor(s): Ellen Arruda
Jamie Ferris Jamie Ferris
Advisor(s): Kathleen Sienko, Noel Perkins
Codie Fiedler Kawaguchi Codie Fiedler Kawaguchi
Advisor(s): Eric Johnsen, Xun (Ryan) Huan
Clare Lanaghan Clare Lanaghan
Advisor(s): Neil Dasgupta
Daniel Liao Daniel Liao
Advisor(s): Neil Dasgupta
Oluka Okia Oluka Okia
Advisor(s): Neil Dasgupta
Lucy Spicher Lucy Spicher
Advisor(s): Kathleen Sienko
Tyler Toner Tyler Toner
Advisor(s): Kira Barton, Dawn Tilbury