Angela Violi

Angela Violi
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Chemical Engineering
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
Professor, Macromolecular Science and Engineering
Professor, Applied Physics
Professor, Biophysics
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Mechanical Engineering


EECS (Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)

1301 Beal 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2122

(734) 615-6448


PhD, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Naples Federico II, Italy, 1999
BS, Graduation Cum Laude Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Naples Federico II, Italy, 1994

Research Interests

Multiscale simulations of complex systems, nanoparticle growth and self-assembly, nanoparticle interactions with biomolecular systems, applied chemical kinetics, aerosols. Chemical and physical properties of fuels, alternative fuels, lubricants.

Honors and Awards

Henry Russel Award, Rackham, 2013
Education Excellence Award, University of Michigan College of Engineering, 2010
ME Achievement Award, University of Michigan Department of Mechanical Engineering, 2008
CAREER Award, National Science Foundation, April 2007
John Zink Award, Salt Lake City, Utah, November 2000
Bernard Lewis Fellowship for "High Quality Research in Combustion," International Combustion Institute, Edinburgh, Scotland, August 2000
Fellowship at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Naples, Italy, January 2000
Ph.D. Dissertation Fellowship, 1996 - 1999
Fellowship at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of California at Berkeley, April - May 1998
Enichem Prize for Distinguished Thesis, 1994
Erasmus Fellowship at the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering at the University College of London, England, 1992 - 1993
Enichem Award of Merit for Best Curriculum Studiorum, Naples, Italy, 1991

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

Seven Mechanical Engineering Faculty have been awarded 2020-21 College of Engineering Awards! Congratulations to them for their outstanding achievements.

The annual Mechanical Engineering Department Achievement Awards have been given to Professor Angela Violi and Professor Jesse Capecelatro. 

Both professors have been recognized by the Women in Science and Engineering Program for their achievements in their field and in education.

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based Master's and doctoral degrees.

The 2020 honorees, approved Feb. 20 by the Board of Regents, are Miranda D. Brown, Angela Violi, Gyorgyi Csankovszki, John Montgomery and Susan Scott Parrish.