Skip to content

Honors & Awards

National Academy of Engineering

Election to National Academy of Engineering (NAE) membership is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. Members have distinguished themselves in business and academic management, in technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations.

U-M ME Faculty NAE Members

2023 Shorya Awtar
2023 Panos Papalambros
2017 Ellen Arruda
2017 Noboru Kikuchi
2016 Jack Hu
2012 Jyoti Mazumder
2008 Dennis Assanis
2006 Galip Ulsoy
2006 Alan Taub
2005 Steve Goldstein
2004 Yoram Koren
2003 Ronald Larson
1993 Albert Schultz
1980 Chia-Shun Yih

ME Faculty with Named Professorships

Distinguished, Collegiate and Endowed Professors

These professorships are among the highest honors bestowed by the University. They recognize a faculty member’s exceptional contributions in research, teaching and service. They are named after former faculty members who have made substantial scholarly contributions while at Michigan or sponsors of the professorships.

John Allison: William F. Hosford Professor
Ellen Arruda: Maria Comninou Collegiate Professor
James Ashton-Miller: Albert Schultz Collegiate Research Professor, Distinguished Research Scientist
Mihaela Banu: OVPR Collegiate Research Professor
James Barber: Jon R. and Beverly S. Holt Professor
Michael Bernitsas: Mortimer E. Cooley Collegiate Professor
Steve Ceccio: Vincent T. and Gloria M. Gorguze Professor
Steven Goldstein: Henry Ruppenthal Family Professor Emeritus
Jack Hu: J. Reid and Polly Anderson Professor Emeritus
Noboru Kikuchi: Roger L. McCarthy Professor Emeritus
Yoram Koren: James J. Duderstadt Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Paul G. Goebel Professor Emeritus
Sridhar Kota: Herrick Professor Emeritus
Ronald Larson: A.H. White Distinguished University Professor, George Granger Brown Professor
Krishnan Mahesh: Richard B. Couch Professor
Jun Ni: Shien-Ming (Sam) Wu Collegiate Professor
Panos Papalambros: James B. Angell Distinguished University Professor, Donald C. Graham Professor
Noel Perkins: Donald T. Greenwood Collegiate Professor
Volker Sick: DTE Energy Professor
Anna Stefanopoulou: William Clay Ford Professor
Jing Sun: Michael G. Parsons Collegiate Professor
Michael Thouless: Janine Johnson Weins Professor
Dawn Tilbury: Herrick Professor
Galip Ulsoy: C.D. Mote, Jr., Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, William Clay Ford Professor Emeritus
Anthony Waas: Felix W. Pawlowski Collegiate Professor Emeritus
Kon-Well Wang: A. Galip Ulsoy Distinguished University Professor, Stephen P. Timoshenko Collegiate Professor
Margaret Wooldridge: Walter J. Weber, Jr. Professor

Arthur F. Thurnau Professors

The Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship recognizes and rewards faculty for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education.

James Barber
Shanna Daly
Bogdan Epureanu
Noel Perkins
Volker Sick
Kathleen Sienko
Steven Skerlos
Michael Thouless
Angela Violi
Alan Wineman
Margaret Wooldridge

Faculty Scholars

Shanna Daly: Miller Faculty Scholar
Neil Dasgupta: Miller Faculty Scholar
Chinedum Okwudire: Miller Faculty Scholar
Kira Barton: Miller Faculty Scholar

Alumni Merit Awards

Recipients are alumni who have made a difference in their field – and in the world. This award is recognized at the department level, with one to be presented from each academic department.

ME Alumni Recipients

2022 Jeanne Rosario
2020 Pete Wurman
2019 Marshall G. Jones
2018 Kimberly Hammonds
2017 Yudong Chen
2016 Karl Hedrick
2015 Paul Nuyen
2014 Carla J. Bailo
2013 Yildiz Y. Bayazitoglu
2012 James H. DeVries
2011 Patrick V. Farrell
2010 Ronald A. Molitor
2009 Raymond B. Pittman
2008 David E. Cole
2007 Richard T. Heglin
2006 Raymond I. Wilcox
2005 Timothy M. Manganello
2004 Marshall G. Jones
2003 John W. Collins III
2002 Michael E. Korybalski
2001 Wen-Ying Tsai
2000 Charles M. Vest
1999 Robert H. Transou
1998 Ward O. Winer
1997 William P. Sommers
1996 Charles S. Hutchins
1995 Carroll J. Haas
1994 Roger L. McCarthy
1993 Robert J. Bucker
1992 Roger A. Heimbuch