Anna Stefanopoulou

Anna Stefanopoulou
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
William Clay Ford Professor of Technology




W.E. Lay Auto Lab

1231 Beal 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2133

(734) 615-8461


Ph.D., Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan, 1996
M.S., Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Michigan, 1994
M.S., Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering, University of Michigan, 1992
Diploma, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering/Mechanica, National Technical University of Athens, 1991

Research Interests

Estimation and control of internal combustion engines and electrochemical processes such as fuel cells and batteries

Honors and Awards

Fellow, SAE, 2018
Associate Editor IEEE Trans in Control Systems Technology, 2002-2007 and 2015- present
Elected Member Board of Governors for the IEEE Control Sys Society (CSS) 2006-2009, 2017-2020
Elected Member Executive Committee of the ASME Dynamic Systems Control Division, 2015-2019
Member IEEE Fellow: Evaluation Committee for IEEE Control System Society (2016-2018)
Member ASME Phi Tau Sigma Awards (Gold, Larsen, Richards) Selection Committee 2016-2017
Plenary, 56th IEEE Conference on Control and Decision, 2017
William Clay Ford Professor of Manufacturing, 2017
Control System Technology Award, IEEE Control System Society, 2016
Plenary, 2nd Symposium on Combustion Control, 2016
Keynote 8th IFAC international symposium on Advances in Automotive Control, 2016
Plenary 3rd Biannual International Conf. in Powertrain Modeling and Control, 2016
ASME Automotive and Transportation Systems Technical Committee (ATS-TC) best paper award for the “Methodology to Evaluate the Fuel Economy of a Multimode Combustion Engine With Three-Way Catalytic Converter,” 2016
Member National Research Council (NRC) committee for reviewing the USA National Corporate Fuel Economy (CAFÉ) Standards in Light Duty Vehicles 2012-2015
Semi-Plenary, American Control Conference, 2014
ASME Automotive and Transportation Systems Technical Committee (ATS-TC) best paper awards for the “Experiments and Analysis of High Cyclic Variability at the Operating Limits of Spark-Assisted HCCI Combustion,” 2013
Research Excellence Award, College of Engineering, University of Michigan, 2012
Keynote, The Advanced Engine Control Symposium, AECS2011, 2011
First and Luminaries: Battery Management: Prognostics and Health Monitoring Symposium, 2011
Keynote Lecture, Modeling and Simulation Symposium, GVSET, 2010
Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award, ASME, 2009
Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, 2008
University of Michigan Faculty Recognition Award, 2008
Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 2007
Keynote Lecture, CSChE2007 57th Canadian Chemical Engineering Conference, 2007
Best paper in Advanced Vehicle Propulsion, co-authored by Ph.D. advisee Chia Jui Chiang, 8th International Symposium on Advanced Vehicle Control (AVEC06), Taipei, Taiwan, August 24-26, 2006
Keynote Lecture: "New Trends on Engine Control, Simulation and Modeling", Les Rencontres Scientifiques de l'IFP, IFP/Rueil-Malmaison, France, 2006
Plenary Talk, IEEE Vehicle Power and Propulsion Conference, UK, England, September 6 - 8, 2006
Outstanding Young Investigator, American Society of Mechanical Engineers International Dynamic Systems and Control Division, 2005
Henry Russel Award, University of Michigan, 2005
Outstanding Faculty Achievement Award, Mechanical Engineering Department, Univeristy of Michigan, 2005
Keynote Lecture, ASME 3rd International Conference on Fuel Cell Science, Engineering and Technology, 2005
Best Paper Award co-authored by Ph.D. advisee Katherine Peterson, International Federation of Automatic Control, Symposium on Mechatronic Systems, Sydney, AU, 2004
Plenary Talk, International Federation of Automatic Control, Symposium on Mechatronic Systems, 2004
Best Paper Award, IEEE Transaction Control System Technology, 2001-2002
Named as one of World's Top 100 Young Innovators in Technology and Business, MIT's Technology Review Magazine,, 2002
Teetor Educational Award, Society of Automotive Engineers, 2002
Invitee of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH) 4th German-American, 2001
Invitee of the National Academy of Engineering Symposium on Frontiers of Engineering, 1999
Innovation Awards (based on patents issued and publications), Ford, 1998,1999, 2000, 2001
Faculty Early Career Development Award, National Science Foundation, 1997

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

University of Michigan engineers are working to make our electrified future more equitable and avoid the mistakes of the past.

Neil Dasgupta, Don Siegel, Jeff Sakamoto, and Anna Stefanopoulou present at the prestigious Gordon Research Conference.  

The American Automatic Control Council (AACC) award recognizes impactful contributions to the modeling, analysis, and control of advanced vehicle powertrain systems.

Efforts are underway to reduce CO2, develop sustainable energy, and adapt to a warmer future.

Two awards given to faculty and Peng delivers a lecture titled, "How Control Theories Were Used to Improve Energy and Safety of Automotive systems."

Anna Stefanopoulou, a mechanical engineer with an expertise in modeling, control and optimization of internal combustion engines, batteries and fuel cells, will become director of the U-M Energy Institute.