Skip to content

External Advisory Board

Left to right (standing): Alan R. Woodliff, Roberta Zald, Roger McCarthy, Katherine Avery Vozar, J. Gary Smyth, Jeff Makarewicz, Laura A. Wojcik, Doug Smith Left to right (seated): David Miller, Carla J. Bailo, Charles Hutchins, Ellen Arruda, Michael E. Korybalski, David E. Cole Left to right (standing): Chuck Gulash, Randy Visintainer, Laura Wojcik, Davor Hrovat, Roberta Zal, Paul Nuyen, Doug Smith Left to right (seated): Tom Shih, Michael Korybalski, Ellen Arruda, Charles Hutchins, David Cole

The ME External Advisory Board

Nearly twenty distinguished friends and alumni of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, from industry, academia and government, comprise the ME External Advisory Board (EAB). The EAB is a valuable resource to the ME chair and the Department as a whole in shaping and meeting strategic goals. The EAB members meet on campus twice every year to discuss departmental vision, strategies and issues and provide advice to the chair.

Katherine Avery VozarKatherine Avery Vozar

Team Leader, Additive Manufacturing Polymer Systems

Ford Motor Company

Carla BailoCarla J. Bailo

President and CEO

Center for Automotive Research

Walter BryzikWalter Bryzik

Emeritus Professor

Wayne State University

Mechanical Engineering Department

David E. ColeDavid E. Cole

Chairman, Auto Harvest

Chairman Emeritus, Center for Automotive Research

Davor HrovatDavor Hrovat

Henry Ford Technical Fellow – Controls (retired)

Ford Research and Innovation Center

Charles HutchinsCharles Hutchins

Co-Founder Manufacturing Data Systems (retired)

Manufacturing Data Systems


Michael E. KorybalskiMichael E. Korybalski

EAB Chair

Co-Founder Mechanical Dynamics

Jeff MakarewiczJeff Makarewicz

Group Vice President

Toyota Motor North America R&D

Roger McCarthyRoger McCarthy

Principal, McCarthy Engineering

David MillerDavid Miller

Director of Product Management

Paul NuyenPaul Nuyen

Vice President (retired)

Everett Operations at Boeing Commercial Airplane

Tom ShihTom Shih

Professor and Head

School of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Purdue University

Doug SmithDoug Smith

President and COO

Roush Industries, Inc.

J. Gary SmythJ. Gary Smyth

Executive Director Global Research & Development (retired)

General Motors Company

Randy VisintainerRandy Visintainer

Director for Autonomous Vehicles

Ford Motor Company

Laura A. Wojcik, P.E.Laura A. Wojcik, P.E.

President and Principal Consultant, L.A.

Wojcik & Associates, LLC.

Alan R. WoodliffAlan R. Woodliff

Director of Industry Relations, MForesight

University of Michigan

Roberta Zald, P.E.Roberta Zald, P.E.

Senior Program Engineering Manager (retired)

Gudel, Inc.

Emeritus EAB Members

Thomas J. DanilekThomas J. Danilek

Principal, Stillwater Interests

General Paul KernGeneral Paul Kern

Senior Counselor

The Cohen Group

Paul D. RogersPaul D. Rogers

Director, RDECOM-Tank Automotive