Skip to content

ME professor receives Adhesion Society Award for Excellence

Dr. Thouless with speakers from the 2023 Award for Excellence in Adhesion Symposium. From left: David Dillard, Bent Sørensen, Michael Thouless, and Ken Liechti.

Michael Thouless, Janine Johnson Weins and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Mechanical Engineering, was selected as the recipient of the 2023 Adhesion Society Award for Excellence for “Exceptional and deep contributions elucidating the mechanics of adhesion.”

This is the Adhesion Society’s premier award for outstanding achievements in scientific research and is sponsored by 3M. It is given in recognition of a scientific contribution that has significantly improved our understanding of the phenomenon of adhesion, or for a contribution to the technology of adhesion or adhesives that has had significant impact on the adhesion/adhesives industry.

Dr. Thouless’s research focuses on micromechanics modeling of materials, interfacial fracture mechanics and adhesion, mechanical properties of thin films and coatings, toughening mechanisms in polymers, and mechanical properties of structural adhesives.

He was honored with an award symposium in Orlando, Florida on Sunday, February 19, 2023, at the 46th Annual Meeting of the Adhesion Society. Congratulations, Dr. Thouless.

Story tags

awards faculty

Faculty featured in this story