Skip to content

National Academy of Inventors Names ME Professor Jing Sun part of 2018 Fellows



Jing Sun

Michigan Engineering – Jing Sun, Ph.D., Michael G. Parsons Collegiate Professor and chair of the Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering department was honored for having demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society. She holds 40 U.S. patents with one more pending. She was the technical leader of the Ford Direct Injection Stratified Charge (DISI) engine control system development project while working at Ford Research, and led a team that pioneered the development of the control system for the renowned Eco-boost technology. Her work led to several Ford internal innovation awards in the period of 1998-2003 and the IEEE Control System Technology Award in 2003.

She has published over 250 peer-reviewed papers and 8 book chapters. Her book “Robust Adaptive Control” is a classic work on adaptive control and has been cited more than 5000 times. She has served on many control journal editorial boards, including the IEEE Transactions on Control System Technology. She was appointed as the General Chair of the 2017 American Control Conference. She is a Fellow of IEEE.

“It is indeed a great honor, I am totally humbled to join such a distinguished group of colleagues as a new fellow of NAI,” says Sun. “I am at a loss for words to express my feelings. I have been very fortunate to work with creative people on challenging problems in the past 25 years working in academia and industry.”

The 2018 Fellows represent 125 research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes worldwide and are named inventors on nearly 4,000 issued U.S. patents. To date, there are over 1,000 NAI Fellows who have generated more than 11,000 licensed technologies and companies, created more than 1.4 million jobs, and generated over $190 billion in revenue.

Included among this year’s NAI Fellows are more than 25 presidents and senior leaders of research universities and non-profit research institutes; 5 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology & Innovation and U.S. National Medal of Science; and 3 Nobel Laureates, among other awards and distinctions.

Story tags

awards controls

Faculty featured in this story