Skip to content

Skerlos Honored With Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship


SkerlosProfessor Steve Skerlos has been appointed an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor for his outstanding contributions to undergraduate and graduate education. He will retain the title throughout his career at the University.

In addition to being the ME Associate Chair for Graduate Education, Skerlos is also the director of the UM Environmental and Sustainable Technologies (EAST) Laboratory and the co-founder and faculty advisor of BLUElab (Better Living Using Engineering), a group which allows engineering students to conceive, develop, and oversee real-world projects locally and in underdeveloped countries.

Each year the University of Michigan recognizes a select group of tenured faculty as Thurnau Professors. Criteria for the award include strong commitment to undergraduate education, innovation in teaching and learning, strong commitment to working effectively with a diverse student body and having demonstrable impact on students’ intellectual development. The professorships are named after alumnus Arthur F. Thurnau and supported by the Thurnau Charitable Trust, which was established through his will. Several ME Professors have received this prestigious honor–Jim Barber, Noel Perkins, Ann Marie Sastry, Alan Wineman, and Margaret Wooldridge.

Story tags


Faculty featured in this story