Skip to content

Wang receives 2018 Pi Tau Sigma-ASME Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award


Kon-Well WangKon-Well Wang, Stephen P. Timoshenko Collegiate Professor and Tim Manganello/BorgWarner Department Chair of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan, is selected to receive the 2018 Pi Tau Sigma-ASME Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award.   The Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award is presented to an engineering graduate who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering twenty years or more following graduation.  Achievement shall be all or in part in any field, including industrial, educational, political, research, civic and artistic. Professor Wang is recognized for his pioneering research work in adaptive structures and structural dynamics via exploring emerging ideas such as piezoelectric circuitry networks, metastable metastructures, and fluidic origami and cellular-composites. He has developed novel methodology to tailor such systems to achieve unprecedented high-authority/low-power-requirement actuation and highly sensitive sensing, and enable multifunctional capabilities with real-world impact. Professor Wang is also recognized for his excellent leadership in mechanical engineering administration and education.

Faculty featured in this story