Skip to content

Previous ME and CoE Award Winners

CoE Awards

Distinguished Academic Achievement

Presented to the outstanding undergraduate in each degree program. Criteria considered by the department awards committee include academic achievement, exemplary character, leadership in class and activities, and potential for success in future endeavors.

2019 – Jacqueline Schmiedeler
2020 – John Burke
2021 – Peter Wacnik

Distinguished Leadership Award

Presented to a College of Engineering student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the College, University, and community.

2020 – Haley Clafton

Henry Ford II Prize

Presented to an outstanding junior who has demonstrated academic excellence.

2019 – Leo McManus
2020 – Adeline Wihardja

Roger M. Jones

Presented to an outstanding graduating senior wishing to pursue a one-year course of graduate studies in English Literature and the Humanities at a British university.

2019 – Charles Velis

Charles F. Barth

Presented to an outstanding sophomore who has demonstrated academic excellence, leadership qualities and outstanding contributions to the University and/or community.

2019 – Patrick Roach

Hugh G. Rumler Prize

Presented to an outstanding senior on the basis of sincerity, integrity, and goodwill; scholarship is desirable but of secondary consideration.

2021 – Julia Stuart

ME Departmental Awards

J.A. Bursley Mechanical Engineering Award

Presented to a Senior in Mechanical Engineering with distinguished scholastic and leadership achievement.

2019 – Jessica Mossier
2020 – Jeremy Goldhawk
2021 – Mitchel Huang, Adeline Wihardja

Robert M. Caddell Memorial Scholarship

Presented to a Mechanical Engineering Junior or Senior with a study focus on Materials and/or Manufacturing.

2019 – Evan Rinder, Justin Kraft, David Van Dyke
2020 – Elizabeth Bernhardt, Lejun Jiang, Lea Russo
2021 – Adam Kim, Jacob Horcher, Katherine Martin

Lloyd H. Donnell Scholarship Fund

Presented to a Mechanical Engineering student who has demonstrated excellence in mechanics

2019 – Lakshuman Periakaruppan
2020 – Radu Tolontan
2021 – Aditya Bhatnagar, Lillian Mei

R&B Machine Tool Company Scholarship

Presented to a Junior or Senior in Mechanical Engineering with a strong GPA and a study focus on Materials and/or Manufacturing who resides in the State of Michigan.

2019 – Emily Mallon, Michael Wolf, Sarah Kalasky
2020 – Mihir Gondhalekar, Vishnu Rengaraj, Michael Apone, Armen Kadian
2021 – Melissa Brei, Noah Zaatar, Julia Toye, Michele Appledorn, Carson Van Skiver

Community Support and Communication Award

Presented to a Mechanical Engineering student who has demonstrated exceptional support for the Mechanical Engineering community under pandemic conditions.

2021 – Paola Rioja, Kevin Wen

Mechanical Engineering Spirit Award

Presented to a Senior in Mechanical Engineering who has demonstrated significant leadership skills, strong interpersonal skills and a dedication to engineering.

2019 – Allison Zweng, Joe Chen
2020 – Yuanzhen Fan, Paola Rioja, Erica Pinto
2021 – Peter Wacnik, Susan Dowling

S. Jack Hu Family and Friends Undergraduate Research Award

Presented to one or more undergraduate Mechanical Engineering students to engage in research with faculty in Mechanical Engineering. The student(s) must demonstrate outstanding academic performance and a keen interest in research.

2021: Junsik Eom, Hannah Faustyn, Hunter Gandee, and Vanya Lazarevic

RISE Best Paper

This is awarded to the student with the best overall RISE project based on the quality of work for both the oral and written presentation during the ME Undergraduate Symposium (MEUS).


2018 – Marcos Cavallin
2019 – Jeremy Babinet
2020 – Radu Tolantan


2019 – Tiantian Li
2020 – William White
2021 – Nicholas Chan