Skip to content

Sick receives prestigious Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship



Professor Volker Sick has been selected to receive the prestigious Arthur F. Thurnau Professorship. The honor is given to faculty who have made outstanding contributions to undergraduate education.

In addition to being a Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Sick is the Director of the Walter E. Lay Automotive Laboratory and a University Co-Director of the General Motors Engine Systems Research Collaborative Research Laboratory. Last year, Sick was appointed Associate Vice President for Research, Natural Science and Engineering.

The Mechanical Engineering Department is no stranger to this award; Jim Barber, Noel Perkins, Steve Skerlos, Alan Wineman, and Margaret Wooldridge have received the professorship in the past.

Story tags


Faculty featured in this story