Diann Brei

Diann Brei
Professor, Mechanical Engineering


GGB (George G. Brown Laboratory)

2350 Hayward 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2125

(734) 763-6617


Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, Arizona State University, 1993
B.S.E., Computer Systems Engineering, Arizona State University, 1988

Research Interests

Design; smart materials and structures; sensor and actuator design; structural dynamics; vibration and noise control; mechatronics, smart mechanisms

Honors and Awards

Ted Kennedy Family Team Excellence Award, College of Engineering, The University of Michigan, 2011
Dedicated Service Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 2011
Associate Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, 2008
Best Paper (Enabling Technology and Integrated Systems Symposium), SMASIS, 2008
Hartwell Award (team with D. Teielbaurm and J. Luntz), 2008
Best Paper, ICAST, 2008
MEAM Teaching Incentive Award
Michigan Road Scholar, 2005
National Academy of Engineering Frontiers in Engineering, 2003 and 2004 (organizer)
National Multiple Scierosis Society Da Vinci Award, http://www.davinciawards.org/, 2003
Outstanding Faculty Award, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, 2001
Ruth and Joel Spira Outstanding Teaching Award, University of Michigan College of Engineering, 2001
Best Paper Award, American Society for Engineering Education, 2000
Career Development Award, 1999
Fellowship Program, Sloan Pre-Tenure Leave, 1999
Summer Faculty Research Program, US Navy-American Society for Engineering Education, 1996
Professor of Winter Term, Pi Tau Sigma, Winter 1995
Junior Faculty Fellowship, General Electric, 1995

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

Brei to receive the award at the SPIE Smart Structures+Nondestructive Evaluation conference.

Brei presented at the ASME 2018 "Conference on Smart Materials, Adaptive Structures & Intelligent Systems" this past September in Texas.

Dr. Diann Brei has been named the new chair of the Integrative Systems + Design, division effective July 19, 2018.

This award recognizes significant contributions to the sciences and technologies associated with adaptive structures and/or materials systems.

The Rackham Master's Mentoring Awards recognize faculty from any discipline who are outstanding mentors to master’s students, particularly for those in programs for which the master’s is the terminal degree.

Five ME faculty members received College of Engineering Awards in 2018. These recipients include Jianping Fu, Anna Stefanopoulou, David Remy, Diann Brei, and John Hoard.