Wei Lu

Wei Lu
Professor, Mechanical Engineering


GGB (George G. Brown Laboratory)

2350 Hayward 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2125

(734) 647-7858


Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering, Princeton University, 2001
Ph.D., Solid Mechanics, Tsinghua University, 1998
M.S., Solid Mechanics, Tsinghua University, 1995
B.S., Engineering Mechanics, Tsinghua University, 1994

Research Interests

Energy storage and electrochemistry; simulation of nano/microstructure evolution; mechanics in nano/micro systems; advanced manufacturing; mechanical properties and performance of advanced materials and relation to microstructures.

Honors and Awards

Ted Kennedy Family Faculty Team Excellence Award, College of Engineering, 2017
Gustus L Larson Memorial Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 2014
Distinguished Professor Award, Novelis and College of Engineering, 2014
Department Achievement Award, Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, 2013
Invited to National Academies Keck Futures Initiative Conference, 2013
Faculty Recognition Award, Rackham Graduate School, 2012
Elected Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineering, 2012
Invited to National Academies Keck Futures Initiative Conference, 2012
Travel Award for Nanoelectronic Devices for Defense and Security Conference, 2009
USNC/TAM-ICTAM Fellowship, US National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, 2008
Summer Faculty Fellow, U.S. Air Force, 2007
Robert M. Caddell Memorial Research Achievement Award, U-M College of Engineering MEAM, 2006
Summer Faculty Fellow, U.S. Air Force, 2006
Summer Faculty Fellow, U.S. Air Force, 2005
Summer Institute Fellow, National Science Foundation, 2004
CAREER Award, National Science Foundation, 2004
MRS Gold Award for Graduate Research, Material Research Society, 2000
Sayre Prize, Princeton University, 1999
Robert J. McGrattan Literature Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 1998

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based Master's and doctoral degrees.

ARC Team, Shanna Daly, Karl Grosh, Wai Lu, Chinedum Okwudire, Michael Umbriac, all have accepted College of Engineering Awards.

This award is presented to a PhD student or postdoctoral scholar for performing exceptional nanocharacterization research with the quality and impact of an exemplary nanoscience scholar.

Professor Wei Lu and PhD student Hossein Rokni's research focuses on the nanoscale probing of interaction in atomically thin layered materials.

Their paper is titled "Scaling behavior of nanoimprint and nanoprinting lithography for producing nanostructures of molybdenum disulfide."

Five ME faculty members received College of Engineering Awards in 2017. These recipients include Shorya Awtar, Margaret Wooldridge, Wei Lu, Michael Thouless, and Miki Banu