Shorya Awtar

Shorya Awtar
Professor, Mechanical Engineering


GGB (George G. Brown Laboratory)

2350 Hayward 
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2125

(734) 615-0285


Sc.D., Mechanical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2004
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2000
B.Tech, Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology - Kanpur, 1998

Research Interests

Precision engineering; mechatronics; flexure mechanisms; high-precision high-bandwidth motion systems for applications in nanometrology and nanomanufacturing; MEMS sensors and actuators; minimally invasive surgery.

Honors and Awards

Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, SAE, 2012
Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, Society of Manufacturing Engineers, 2011
Achievement Award, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, 2011
CAREER Award, National Science Foundation, 2009
One of the the six most promising invention disclosures filed in year 2008, U-M Technology Transfer Office, 2009
R&D100 Award, for the XY High Precision Extended Range Nanopositioner, 2008

Faculty Type

Tenured and Tenure-Track

Related News

FlexDex Surgical, an innovative medical device company founded by Mechanical Engineering Associate Professor Shorya Awtar and Medical School Professor James Geiger, has received coverage from several media outlets

FlexDex™ is a platform technology that provides enhanced dexterity, intuitive control, and natural force feedback in minimally invasive surgery.

Members of Prof. Shorya Awtar’s research group, the Precision Systems Design Lab (PSDL), won two Best Paper Awards at the ASME 2013 International Design Engineering Technical Conferences (IDETC)

ME Associate Professor Shorya Awtar has won the R&D 100 Award, which recognizes the new micro-actuators developed in his research group as one of the 100 most innovative and significant technologies of the year

HIPERNAP LLC, a University of Michigan based start-up, has received a Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) grant to develop and commercialize large range flexure-based nanopositioning technology.

Three ME faculty have been recognized with the 2012 College of Engineering Awards